Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Horse Slaughter: What YOU can do NOW to Stop it’s Return

Straight from the Horse's Heart

Urgent Call To Action
We need your help reaching out to Congress on behalf of our nation’s horses. Until a few years ago, there were a handful of foreign-owned slaughterhouses in the U.S. that butchered horses for markets in Europe and Asia, where horse meat is considered a delicacy. Americans spoke out against this practice, and since 2005, Congress has prevented horse slaughter in the U.S. by cutting funds for inspections of horse meat from its annual Agriculture Appropriations Bill.

Even though the current Congress prides itself on reducing government spending, some members are arguing that we should resume funding inspections for equine slaughterhouses—a step that would allow them to reopen on U.S. soil!

You may have either a U.S. senator or representative serving on the special conference committee that’s currently debating the Agriculture Appropriations Bill. This committee will play a pivotal role in determining whether horse slaughter returns to the United States. You are in a key position to impact this decision!

What You Can Do
Place a brief, polite phone call to your legislator’s D.C. office and say: “As a constituent, I ask that you please retain language that bans the use of tax dollars to fund horse slaughterhouse inspections in the Agriculture Appropriations Bill.” Making the call will be fast and easy, and could make a real difference for thousands of American horses while we work to pass a permanent ban on horse slaughter.

Call ONLY the legislator listed alongside your state, please:

Alabama: Senator Richard Shelby (202) 224-5744
Arkansas: Senator Mark Pryor (202) 224-2353
Arizona: Representative Ed Pastor (202) 225-4065
California: Senator Dianne Feinstein (202) 224-3841
Connecticut: Representative Rosa DeLauro (202) 225-3661
Florida: Representative Bill Young (202) 225-5961
Georgia: Representative Jack Kingston (202) 225-5831
Hawaii: Senator Daniel Inouye (202) 224-3934
Iowa: Senator Tom Harkin (202) 224-3254
Kansas: Senator Jerry Moran (202) 224-6521
Kentucky: Senator Mitch McConnell (202) 224-2541
Massachusetts: Representative John Olver (202) 225-5335
Maryland: Senator Barbara Mikulski (202) 224-4654
Maine: Senator Susan Collins (202) 224-2523
Missouri: Senator Roy Blunt (202) 224-5721
Mississippi: Senator Thad Cochran (202) 224-5054
North Carolina: Representative David Price (202) 225-1784
North Dakota: Senator John Hoeven (202) 224-2551
Nebraska: Senator Ben Nelson (202) 224-6551
Ohio: Senator Sherrod Brown (202) 224-2315
Pennsylvania: Representative Chaka Fattah (202) 225-4001
South Dakota: Senator Tim Johnson (202) 224-5842
Texas: Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (202) 224-5922
Virginia: Representative Frank Wolf (202) 225-5136
Washington: Representative Norm Dicks (202) 225-5916
Wisconsin: Senator Herb Kohl (202) 224-5653

Thank you!

No comments:

Post a Comment